serw-MX  [xml]  

 DeCS Categories

Z01 Geographic Locations .
Z01.058 Africa .
Z01.058.290 Africa South of the Sahara .
Z01.058.290.100 Africa, Central .
Z01. Sao Tome and Principe .
Z01.252 Asia 946 .
Z01.252.145 Asia, Southeastern .
Z01.252.145.281 Timor-Leste .
Z01.252.145.380 Indonesia .
Z01.542 Europe .
Z01.542.467 Ireland .
Z01.586 Historical Geographic Locations .
Z01.586.650 New Guinea .
Z01.639 Islands .
Z01.639.040 Atlantic Islands .
Z01.639.040.847 Sao Tome and Principe .
Z01.639.520 Indian Ocean Islands .
Z01.639.580 Indonesia .
Z01.639.587 Ireland .
Z01.639.760 Pacific Islands .
Z01.639.760.590 Melanesia .
Z01.639.760.590.715 Papua New Guinea .
 Synonyms & Historicals
Indonesia .
Bali 5555 .
East Indies .
Madura .
Indonesian New Guinea .
Irian Jaya .
New Guinea, Indonesian .
New Guinea, West .
West Irian .
Celebes .
Java 5555 .
Madoera .
Malay Archipelago .
Netherlands East Indies .
Sulawesi .
Sumatra .
Timor .
A republic stretching from the Indian Ocean east to New Guinea, comprising six main islands: Java, Sumatra, Bali, Kalimantan (the Indonesian portion of the island of Borneo), Sulawesi (formerly known as the Celebes) and Irian Jaya (the western part of New Guinea). Its capital is Djakarta. The ethnic groups living there are largely Chinese, Arab, Eurasian, Indian, and Pakistani; 85% of the peoples are of the Islamic faith. .
New Guinea .
Originally an island of the Malay Archipelago, the second largest island in the world. It divided, West New Guinea becoming part of Indonesia and East New Guinea becoming Papua New Guinea. .
Papua New Guinea .
New Guinea, East .
New Guinea, Papua .
A country consisting of the eastern half of the island of New Guinea and adjacent islands, including New Britain, New Ireland, the Admiralty Islands, and New Hanover in the Bismarck Archipelago; Bougainville and Buka in the northern Solomon Islands; the D'Entrecasteaux and Trobriand Islands; Woodlark (Murua) Island; and the Louisiade Archipelago. It became independent on September 16, 1975. Formerly, the southern part was the Australian Territory of Papua, and the northern part was the UN Trust Territory of New Guinea, administered by Australia. They were administratively merged in 1949 and named Papua and New Guinea, and renamed Papua New Guinea in 1971. .
Timor-Leste .
Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste .
East Timor .
A country in Southeastern Asia, at the eastern end of the Indonesian archipelago. It includes the eastern half of the island of Timor, the Oecussi (Ambeno) region on the northwest portion of the island of Timor, and the islands of Pulau Atauro and Pulau Jaco. On May 20, 2002, TIMOR-LESTE was internationally recognized as an independent state, following its declared independence from Portugal on November 20, 1975 and a period of armed conflict with Indonesia. .
Indian Ocean Islands .
Cocos (Keeling) Islands .
Maldives .
Pemba .
Cocos Islands .
Numerous islands in the Indian Ocean situated east of Madagascar, north to the Arabian Sea and east to Sri Lanka. Included are COMOROS (republic), MADAGASCAR (republic), Maldives (republic), MAURITIUS (parliamentary democracy), Pemba (administered by Tanzania), REUNION (a department of France), and SEYCHELLES (republic). .
Africa .
The continent south of EUROPE, east of the ATLANTIC OCEAN and west of the INDIAN OCEAN. .
Sao Tome and Principe .
Islands in the Gulf of Guinea, just north of the Equator, and west of Gabon. .
Ireland .
Eire 5754 .
Ireland, Republic of .
Irish Free State .
A country in western Europe, occupying five-sixths of the island of Ireland in the North Atlantic Ocean, west of Great Britain. The capital is Dublin. .