serw-MX  [xml]  

 DeCS Categories

Z01 Geographic Locations .
Z01.058 Africa .
Z01.058.290 Africa South of the Sahara .
Z01.058.290.175 Africa, Southern .
Z01. Lesotho .
Z01.107 Americas .
Z01.107.084 Caribbean Region .
Z01.107.084.113 Aruba .
Z01.107.084.169 Caribbean Netherlands .
Z01.107.757 South America .
Z01.107.757.833 Suriname .
Z01.252 Asia 946 .
Z01.252.145 Asia, Southeastern .
Z01.252.145.380 Indonesia .
Z01.252.145.841 Thailand .
Z01.542 Europe .
Z01.542.651 Netherlands .
Z01.542.816 Scandinavian and Nordic Countries .
Z01.542.816.374 Norway .
Z01.586 Historical Geographic Locations .
Z01.586.575 Netherlands Antilles .
Z01.639 Islands .
Z01.639.040 Atlantic Islands .
Z01.639.040.109 Aruba .
Z01.639.040.619 Caribbean Netherlands .
Z01.639.580 Indonesia .
 Synonyms & Historicals
Netherlands .
Holland .
Kingdom of the Netherlands .
Holland .
Country located in EUROPE. It is bordered by the NORTH SEA, BELGIUM, and GERMANY. Constituent areas are Aruba, Curacao, and Sint Maarten, formerly included in the NETHERLANDS ANTILLES. .
Thailand .
Kingdom of Thailand .
Siam 10520 .
Formerly known as Siam, this is a Southeast Asian nation at the center of the Indochina peninsula. Bangkok is the capital city. .
Norway .
Kingdom of Norway .
A country located in northern Europe, bordering the North Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, west of Sweden. The capital is Oslo. .
Netherlands Antilles .
Bonaire .
St. Eustatius .
Saba 7243 .
South St. Martin .
Former Netherlands overseas territory in the Lesser Antilles in the West Indies. It had included the islands of Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, St. Eustatius, and the southern part of St. Martin. The Netherlands Antilles dissolved on October 10, 2010. .
Lesotho .
Kingdom of Lesotho .
Basutoland .
A kingdom in southern Africa, within the republic of SOUTH AFRICA. Its capital is Maseru. .
Suriname .
Surinam .
Dutch Guiana .
Netherlands Guiana .
A republic in the north of South America, bordered on the west by GUYANA (British Guiana) and on the east by FRENCH GUIANA. Its capital is Paramaribo. It was formerly called Netherlands Guiana or Dutch Guiana or Surinam. Suriname was first settled by the English in 1651 but was ceded to the Dutch by treaty in 1667. It became an autonomous territory under the Dutch crown in 1954 and gained independence in 1975. The country was named for the Surinam River but the meaning of that name is uncertain. (From Webster's New Geographical Dictionary, 1988, p1167 & Room, Brewer's Dictionary of Names, 1992, p526) .
Caribbean Netherlands .
A group Caribbean islands including Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba. .
Aruba .
Island in the Caribbean Sea, north of Venezuela. In 1986 it became a separate, autonomous member of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. .
Indonesia .
Bali 5555 .
East Indies .
Madura .
Indonesian New Guinea .
Irian Jaya .
New Guinea, Indonesian .
New Guinea, West .
West Irian .
Celebes .
Java 5555 .
Madoera .
Malay Archipelago .
Netherlands East Indies .
Sulawesi .
Sumatra .
Timor .
A republic stretching from the Indian Ocean east to New Guinea, comprising six main islands: Java, Sumatra, Bali, Kalimantan (the Indonesian portion of the island of Borneo), Sulawesi (formerly known as the Celebes) and Irian Jaya (the western part of New Guinea). Its capital is Djakarta. The ethnic groups living there are largely Chinese, Arab, Eurasian, Indian, and Pakistani; 85% of the peoples are of the Islamic faith. .